Down the rabbit hole trying to choose the best rig setup

The rabbit hole is huge. I dig deeper and I feel as if the more i dig the further away I get from executing a purchase for hardware.

Ive watched all of voskcoin videos and two of his builds caught my attention.

1. The trio setup
  2. 12 GPU setup

Some thoughts.

1. Looks like 1060 (6gb or 8gb) cards might be best. Thinking for the future.
    A. but which 1060 cards is what im having issues with. Again, that rabbit hole is deep and I have not found solid answers that match up with each other. Everyone has their own opinion but I wants facts.

2. Why is the trio popular? I would think a 12 unit rig would be cheaper and more efficient since its less parts to buy. Youre not buying multiple mobo’s, ram etc.

3. Im a noob, but def not just showing up here without doing research asking to be spoon fed. I guess I just need a few questions listed above answered to help guide me in the right direction. I really dont want to drop $3k-$5k and find out, oops. I should have went another direction.

Stoked to be a new member of this community and cant wait to start mining with you guys.

When looking at the trio vs 12 GPU I think you are essentially looking at two efficient solutions but approached differently.

The 12 GPU obviously goes for the economies of scale, by maximizing the number of cards per mobo,cpu,ram. The trade off is you have have at least two top end PSU’s. Also i think 12 GPU rigs need 8gb ram instead of the typical 4.

When you look at a trio, you arn’t buying the 13 GPU BTC mobo. Instead you are able to get a much cheaper 6 card mobo at about 1/3 of the price. You are also able to get a much cheaper PSU and only 4gb of ram.

So the result is the trio is efficient on the PSU/mobo/ram costs but the 12 GPU rig is more efficient when your looking to significantly scale up.